Hunkered Down

In upstate New York the wind chills are close to thirty below.

This weekend was bitter cold and the rest of the week does not seem any better.

I ventured out to the store Sunday. In the parking lot I got stuck in a whirling wind and snow storm.

I covered my face but the wind and cold stung my eyes. A couple of times I sopped to catch my breath.

In all of this mess I was fascinated by the power of the weather.

The sheer strength and magnitude made me feel small and alone.

When I made it home I got comfortable on the couch with my reading materials. It was warm and cozy.  I soon forgot about the cold.  My hope is that everyone was warm and safe.

Hunkered down for now.

Leave a Reply

