Blustery & Cold in Upstate New York

If you don’t live in cold weather country you miss the fun of winter driving.

Snow squalls with the total whiteouts!  Icy and hazardous road conditions.

This type of weather tests your resolve! Zaps your strength! Takes a couple of years off your life!

I said my prayers a couple of times this week.

As I was going along Monday I wet over a knoll and was hit by a wall of snow.  I stopped in the middle of the road and put on my flashers.

My mind could only think of another car coming up and crashing into me.

It seemed in one moment I was at the brink. In the next minute the weather relented.

I got into work and crawled to my desk.  I said a couple of silent prayers.

It happened again this week.

Today I hit some icy conditions.  My car was going up a hill and it started to slide.

It was almost like an out of body experience.  There I was watching myself calmly steer the vehicle out of trouble while keep its momentum going.

Luckily I also have a friend riding with me so she helped keep me calm.

When I crested down the hill the conditions were even worse.  I could feel the impending doom!

On one side a steep incline to go off or the other side a wire guardrail with a cliff.  I didn’t feel too confident with my choices!

I turned to my friend.

“I think I am going to have stop now.”  She looked at me for a moment but said nothing.

I lightly pushed the gas pedal and glided past the icy conditions.

God could hear my prayers loud and clear!

During the day my heart sank.

There were snow squalls and blowing sow.

I whimpered several times I couldn’t do this again.

It was a few hours before quitting time when I spotted the sun.  I tried not to focus on it but I was hoping.

As I walked out the door to my car the sun was shining brightly.  I could see the pavement and the roads were clear.

It blustery and cold in Upstate New York but we are doing just fine!

Happy Friday!

4 thoughts on “Blustery & Cold in Upstate New York

  1. Glad you made it back and forth safely. I’m in WV, and it’s been cold and blustery here, too. Luckily, I only had one harrowing driving day on Thursday. I’m ready for spring! 🙂

Leave a Reply

