The Fat Girl & Fashion

I was going through my clothes this weekend while thinking about some changes in the fashion industry.

It has been a long time but I really think plus size fashion has been given some credibility in the fashion world!

At fashion week plus size models walked the catwalk wearing designer labels especially designed for larger women.

I cheered.

It’s been a long hard road for fat girls to get clothes that not only fit but look good as well.

When I was younger there was so many times I felt ashamed about my size.

I remember shopping for clothes in Sears or JCPenney trying to find one shirt that didn’t have flowers or an abstract print. I was ecstatic to find a Cheryl Tiegs top that might fit me as well as a pair of pants without an elastic waist band

There were times my mother had to check boys sizes because there was no larger size pants for younger plus size girls.

As I got older it began to get a little better but not by much.  The stores had limited inventory with not the greatest selection.

It has only been in the last couple decades there have been stores working on plus size fashions with style that are affordable.

It’s funny but for all this time the majority of woman have had little or nothing to say about fashion.

My hope is that it will continue to evolve.

I love clothes!

2 thoughts on “The Fat Girl & Fashion

  1. Thank goodness things are getting better in plus-sized fashion. Who are these designers that think that bigger women want to wear horizontal stripes, or that younger women want to wear clothing that looks like something a grandmother would wear? I always hated the fact that few stores sold plus-sized versions of their smaller clothes. When I was wearing plus sizes, I had to buy much of my clothing online–not an easy task to find the right size when you can’t try things on. Now we have a Dress Barn Plus in our area that sells plus-sized clothing that’s just like their smaller sized clothes. Everyone, of any size should be able to look nice and feel comfortable in what they wear! 🙂 Good post!

Leave a Reply

