Tempting Thoughts

I was reading the disappearingwoman’s blog about temptations in life and how do you handle them. 

In my mind food has always been the biggest temptation in my life.  I try so hard to not make it a focus but I love eating.  

The worst time for me is after work.  It has been a long day and I feel the urge to eat the things right in front of me with no limits. 

If it’s a bag of chips I definitely can’t eat just one or if its ice cream a little bowl will not be enough. 

Practicing moderation presents a true problem for me.  As a child I gorged on food all the time.  I would eat until I got sick or the food was gone. 

Instead of just eating I try to rationalize the need for food. It works most of the time but every once in a while I go crazy.

There was a time in my life I wanted to get away from the world.  I had accepted I would always be obese and felt there was nothing I could ever do about it. 

Every day I felt numb and needed an escape from my life.  I began to feel more alone and wanted to become invisible. 

One day I realized no matter how hard I tried to forget this was my life!

I needed to live it. 

 It may take me the rest of my life but I needed to face the problems and search out solutions. 

Life was something I needed to conquer

I got off the couch and started to exercise.  Put myself into a gym workout and seriously overhauled my eating habits. 

No matter how hard I tried I could not start over but I could take the initiative to change my life!

Temptations will always be around every corner!

With the proper perspective and a little will power I can work on my temptations for food. 

I want to be healthy!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Tempting Thoughts

  1. One of the things I tell myself when I am so hungry and want to eat so bad (but I think it’s probably not time yet) is that this feeling is a GOOD feeling (instead of bad feeling needing fixing) because it is what I need to feel in order to lose weight. I don’t always believe it tho and still eat…

  2. Disappearingwomans blog is a great read! Temptations will always be in front of us, and the secret is in the recognition. Accept it for what it is, move past it. It’s hard, but it’s part of the journey.

  3. 🙂 Thank you for the shout out! It was a good thing my vacation ended because the temptation to go crazy with food was really getting to me. It’s better now that I’m home.
    I can so identify with that love of eating. Plus food is a way of recreating good memories and temporarily stifling bad ones. You’re doing all the right things, Kim and your desire to be healthy can keep you on track because you know how good it feels. When you do over eat, just remember that the next day, hour, or even minute is a new chance to do the right thing. Forgive yourself and keep trying. We’re human and we’re all going to have those temptations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

