A Matter of Perception

I was in my Cardio Kick boxing class and I was trying to keep up with the rest of the class.

I lamented to myself I should be more physically fit. 

I still feel like I am behind everyone else in the class.

For a moment I looked at the people in the class that were a lot more fit and skinnier than me.

Maybe it’s just a matter of perception. 

Because I saw them sweating and working hard like me. 

Why do I get down on myself? 

As I go along I realize I must do my best to participate in these activities. 

If I let my feelings get me down I might as well go sit back on the couch and start packing the pounds back on.

So when I start feeling negative I have to build myself up and keep moving towards my goals.

So what is I’m not pretty at doing it!

At least I’m there!

🙂

14 thoughts on “A Matter of Perception

  1. I am often the least trim person in an exercise class but…I just do not get my exercise in unless I go to a class. And even fit people who are new to a type of class feel awkward. That helps my ego a little.

  2. Kim, you should see me in an aerobics class. I still haven’t learned my left from right, and I have the amazing capability of tripping on air! I just keep moving and laugh at myself when I get off track. My instructor is awesome about making me feel normal about my clumsiness. You’re doing great and you’re very brave to do something like that! I still don’t have the stamina or cojones to try kick boxing!

  3. I do the same thing- comparing myself to the others. And I always let it discourage me. Something I have to work on. I try to focus on me. Am I working hard, giving it my all? Am I improving? How do I compare to myself 6 months ago?

  4. I feel awkward even when I’m alone! lol I think it’s awesome that you go to class and get your exercise in! It never matters what anyone else thinks! You’re there and you’re taking care of you! 😀

Leave a Reply

