Still Need to Count It

A night with friends in a food laden environment spells trouble for me. 

For some reason I think the calories don’t count on these occasions.

But they do.  I did have chicken breast for dinner and avoided the all the treats.

Cookies, pretzels, caramel corn, chocolate and doughnuts.  We mentioned stopping at a chocolate factory but we somehow avoided it! 

Our group decided to get ice cream and stopped at Friendly’s.  I got a PB Lava Cake Sundae!! 

I became to eat it quickly.  Suddenly I started to slow down.  It was way too much food.  It’s funny how the processes of your brain can change with some coaching. 

I did not have to gobble it up.  In fact I probably should have ordered a 2 scoop ice cream instead.  I ate my fill and left quite a bit of it behind. 

I still need to count it!! 

So happy I can see changes in myself!

11 thoughts on “Still Need to Count It

  1. Congratulations on deciding not to finish that sundae.

    We ate out at a fancy place last night. I was set for no dessert but hubby wanted dessert. So oops I ordered and ate every last bit of a yummy carrot cake. Lots of walking today, but also more fine restaurant temptations.

  2. This reminded me of the first time I went out with my friends for dinner after I started my weight loss journey. I ordered a grilled chicken breast with brown rice on the side. I thought it was a healthy dish, but turns out it was1500 calories. I have no idea how! I am glad I skipped dessert that day.
    The thing is, when you eat out you can check if they have healthier options for less calories. They usually do. But anyway, one meal like this will not hurt you or hinder your efforts.

    Wish you the best on your journey!

  3. Eating out is so very VERY hard! That’s one reason we don’t hardly ever do it. And of course I will be in that boat tomorrow with Mexican Food and friends we haven’t seen in almost a year. I am going to try, but it’s one of my favorites, so it’s not going to be easy. lol BUT I’m so proud of you for stopping! That is so so hard to do! Great job! 😀

  4. I find i eat things too quick so ov started to eat with a teaspoon rathet than a desert spoon.
    Iv also fallen onot the this dosent count wagon

  5. We’ve worked on mindful eating in my classes. Go at things slowly and savor every bite. Always leave some behind–which goes so against my no wasting mindset. I think you did a great job!

Leave a Reply

