I Have The Two Greatest Gifts in Life

I was in Target this weekend shopping and noticed a young woman with three little girls running around like crazy. 

She was pretty exasperated trying to keep them from killing each other.

I decided to let her know how lucky her girls were in life.

“They will always be there for each other.” I told her. “I have two sisters myself.”

“So they won’t keep fighting.” She asked.

“No” I said. “They will grow to love each other and always be there.”

She smiled for a moment and began trying to round them all up.

I thought about this today.

I have an older sister Lizzy and a younger sister Robin.

I am the middle child. 

Growing up was never easy. 

I was never the responsible and respected one like my older sister and I was not the beloved baby girl like my younger sister Robin. 

We grew up together.

In one moment we hated each other and in the next we would profess our love and affection. 

Today was not a good day.

My sister Lizzy called me today at work.  She never calls me at work unless there is a problem.  Mom was having a CT Scan for some abnormal lab results so of course I was terrified. 

She let me know Mom had to go to the ER due to the test results. I began to panic.  The tears were welling in my eyes.

“Kim, it will be okay. Mom will be alright. I love you!.” She told me.

I immediately calmed down and remembered Lizzy would be with me.

My two sisters are always there for me. 

At the highest and lowest points in my life I have had a sister to my left and one to my right. 

When I had nothing there was their love. 

If I needed them they rushed to my side to provide comfort. 

The best of times were the tears shed upon the birth of my son and the delight we have had in raising him.

So beautiful. So real.

I got home and rushed to the phone.  I spoke to Robin.

“Mom should be coming home soon.” She explained “They are not sure right now but it looks like she is okay for now.”

I felt relief.  We talked a few moments about our day.

“By the way,” Robin said. “I have been reading your blog every night and you are doing a great job.”

The emotion let loose. I told Robin not to think about me. We were worried about mom.

She wanted to let me know she was supporting me.

Life is an endless array of moments.

Ones of great happiness and sorrow. 

The moments in my life have been shared with my sisters. 

I know no matter where I am they will always get to me.

When I reach my hand to them they will grasp it firmly and put their arms around me.

I have the two greatest gifts in life.

Image

 

 

21 thoughts on “I Have The Two Greatest Gifts in Life

  1. I only have a brother but we have always had each other’s back–and rarely fought even as kids, lol. But now I have sister-in-laws, too, and love them! This was a very sweet post. Glad your mom is doing better.

  2. Very sweet post! I hope your mom will be feeling as good as new very soon. You’re lucky to have your sisters. I have only one brother. We live five hours away from each other, but we talk every week.

  3. That is so awesome! I don’t have any sisters, only a brother so I don’t know what that’s like.

  4. Your blog brought tears to my eyes! I am the oldest of 6, but when I was 19, my sister passed away. She was two years younger than me. So, I have 4 brothers who love me. I am thankful for them, and I miss my sister greatly. I even miss the arguments and the craziness like hiding in the racks of clothes at the store. Treasure your sisters always. They truly are a blessing! Even with my sister gone from this world, my memories of her still teach me. I am thankful for that in spite of the grief that ebbs and flows.

    • I am sorry for your loss!! Love is something that never leaves you!! You are so brave to share that with me!! We can delight in the love we have experienced!!

      • Amen! The loss is part of my fabric, and the Lord has done mighty works through this journey of grief. I place it all in His hands. And I am reminded through your words in your blog how much of a blessing siblings are, even in the midst of arguments. 🙂 Each time you hug your sisters, treasure their embrace!

  5. I wish I had what you have. I have four children and hope they will have that loving and supportive bond as adults. Thank you for sharing!

  6. You’re very blessed! I have an older brother and we fought like crazy when we were young, but were close as teens and still are fairly close even though we hardly ever see each other. 🙂

    • I am blessed!! That’s why I love to write about it! We need to take the good things in life and put them out for everyone to see! I am blessed to have you!! 🙂

  7. You certainly are blessed! I have three older siblings and we are not close at all, but I do wish we were. I feel very alone sometimes.

Leave a Reply

