He Loves Me for Me

You’ll never love yourself half as much as I love you
And you’ll never treat yourself right, darling, but I want you to.
If I let you know I’m here for you
Maybe you’ll love yourself like I love you, oh.

Lyrics from Little Things by One Direction

I was driving home from work listening to this sappy love song.

I could picture my husband’s face. His kind eyes and warm smile.

I remember the first day we met and I shared with him my insecurities about being overweight. He instantly put me at ease by saying he needed to lose weight and weight was not an issue for him.

I had always been scared by relationships and felt like I could never find anyone who would love me. I let my apprehensions about my weight guide my relationships with men.

Honestly, I truly feel his love for me as well as his longing to have me accept myself for who I am and begin to let go of my fears.  I

It has been a long and arduous process but I have made peace with myself about my weight. I look towards a new chapter and a better life.

Because my husband loves me for me.

Leave a Reply

